The Seeds of Doubt

photo

Sadly most of us live in a world full of negativity and harsh criticism. Hearing more of “you can’t” than “you can, “you shouldn’t” than “you should” or “you wont” than “you will”. How we deal with this is totally up to us, and how much we let it affect us. It’s very easy to let these words plant themselves in our mind and take root, to bloom self-destructive fruit. These plants must always be uprooted as soon as possible before they start killing our dreams and goals. More than likely the people telling us these things, once heard them from someone else in their life time and they believed them. Don’t fall victim to these dream killers or continue to be one. Positivity is a recycle cycle that always comes back to you if you give it out. Your only limit is the one you set for yourself. So let no one set your limit for you other than yourself.

21 thoughts on “The Seeds of Doubt

  1. That’s why I tell my kids they can do anything. Let them try and celebrate success but also let them work through failing. Failing means try again…work harder…success isn’t easy.

  2. I just wanted to tell you thankyou for the messages that you are sending. I grew up in an abusive home, and you are correct that the words you hear do stay with you. As a mother of 3 very special boys (they have autism), I have tried very hard to send them a very different message than I received growing up. Also there are people in this world who are extremely negative and unkind, who tell our boys what’s “wrong” with them, or that they will not be able to accomplish much. I tend to think our boys are beautiful and extremely unique, and I am very blessed to be given the opportunity to be their mother. I tell them how proud they make me each and every day. I am sorry that I did not have a chance to get to know you before I nominated people who inspired me, because you for sure would have been on my list. This world is so full of hatred, and unkindness towards others, it is re-freshing to find someone like you who is full of light, and an inspiration to others. For that I thank you.

    1. I have never been so touch by a story, like yours. I also had a very unhealthy childhood thanks to my mother but I try to forgive but never forget. Your sons are so lucky to have you πŸ™‚ its good that you don’t let ignorant people get to you with their comments. That’s the history of the world, to attack what it doesn’t understand. Its always a real joy to find other out there such as yourself :). I will be following for sure and do keep in touch.

      1. I will keep in touch for sure. I always love the article by Charles Swindoll about attitude. I don’t have room to write the whole thing, but there is one sentence that I try to apply in my life….it states that life is 10% what happens to us, and 90% how we respond to it. And thanks for saying our boys are lucky….actually they were given an ornery, red-headed momma bear, and as my husband says….never mess with a red-head! πŸ˜‰

  3. It’s really weird. I just found the very thing I’ve been searching for and I saw this blog. Doubt. What if? it’s a scary feeling…but beautifully written πŸ™‚

  4. … When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill, when things go wrong as they sometimes will, when care is pressing you down a bit… rest if you must but don’t you quit! Great post!

  5. “It’s very easy to let these words plant themselves in our mind and take root, to bloom self-destructive fruit. These plants must always be uprooted as soon as possible before they start killing our dreams and goals.”

    And sometimes, we could uproot/pull someone else’s and let them pull ours. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

