The Masks we Wear

ourcloudlounge 15

The Masks we Wear
From the time we are born and learn how to walk and talk, we’re taught how we should be and be seen in this world. Traits we we’re born with and our personality is molded and shaped before we even get to know ourselves. Sometimes parts of us are forgotten and locked away all together. These make unnatural identities within and sometimes can forms masks on the outside. Now once one mask is made, others can form even faster depending on how many people around us, we’re trying to please by being who they want us to be. The problems with these switching of mask, is that we can easily soon forget who we are without them and who was underneath them to begin with. The trick is to not have to feel like we have to adapt to everyone’s else personality but to find others that accept you, as is.

18 thoughts on “The Masks we Wear

  1. “There will be time, there will be time
    To prepare a face to meet the faces that you meet;”
    -t.s. eliot-
    Your post reminded me of this quote ( one of my favorites). If we could somehow take the mask away, meeting one another with faces that are clean and true imagine how rich our world would seem. Great, thought provoking post. Thank you for it. 🙂 -kim

  2. I totally agree with this. Everyone needs to be who they really are and not who others want us to be. I do not wear masks and if someone does not like me as I am that is fine. What you see is what you get with me. My heart is big and my roots are from the country. I believe in simple living and do not apologize for it. I love your blog, never stop sharing! 🙂

  3. I think sometimes we become chameleons, adjusting to those around us. Sometimes we do this to “get along” or make connections. I find that if I am able to just be ME with someone , then I have broken through a major barrier. It might have been because of who they are or maybe my state of mind at the time….it doesn’t matter, either way , it is great. 🙂

  4. True words.! We should also remember that as we wear our mask, hiding the ‘real’ us – so to do most of those we meet making for a doubling of the ‘error’ of who we really are underneath.

    Why are we ashamed of who we are? We want to be liked, that is natural, but why would we put on a mask of pretence? Why not be us and if someone does not like it, find out (ask them/yourself) why and if you see justification in the answer then use it to change you into the you you really want to be, else simply accept that not everyone will like you and move on, respecting that.

  5. Great post, very thought provoking. I totally agree. There is no point in not being true to yourself, it doesn’t work, in the process of trying to keep everyone else happy you just end up making yourself miserable!

Leave a Reply

